Off the Beaten Path

When Dan and I travel, we rarely take the direct route.  Venturing off the beaten path is where the fun is.  On this particular trip, the end goal was Pipestone, MN which is located at the very Southwestern corner of MN.  There were many towns along the way that we made a mental note to stop back and explore further at a later date and time.  A few mentionable towns we decided, for some reason or another, to stop in were Gibbon and Walnut Grove MN.

To Pipestone we go

As we traveled through Gibbon, MN a few of the business caught our eye and seemed to bring us back to another point in time. Gibbon Village Hall is an extremely interesting building;  the unusual building was built in 1895 with medieval-themed Romanesque Revival architecture.  We also took some time out of our travels to walk into Bad Dog Antiques and Other Attractions and were pleasantly surprised.  What a very interesting and unique store… I am still kicking myself for not purchasing the complete antique set of alphabet wooden blocks!  If ever in the area, stop in and chat with the friendly staff. To see more images from Gibbon, MN take the time to view Dan’s blog, “Gibbon, MN/MN South Central”.

Located in the Southwest corner of Redwood County, Lies a small town called Walnut Grove.  Walnut Grove is known nationwide today as the childhood home of Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Every year, the town holds a Wilder Pageant which is an outdoor drama based of the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder. Although there are no pictures of the historical site in this blog, I remember visiting the banks of Plum creek often as a child since my grandmother lived and taught school in a small town located east of this area in Lamberton.

26 thoughts on “Off the Beaten Path

  1. markpeltonen says:

    These are fantastic shots.

  2. Tina Schell says:

    Really wonderful work Cynthia. Well done.

  3. Dan Traun says:

    Nice weather is finally back; we need to take another road trip. I really like that window shot.

  4. Diane says:

    Cyndie I so enjoy your travels, the photos and your blog. When I retire, I think I’m going to stalk you so I can see these treasures up close and personal. XOXO

  5. avian101 says:

    As always, you find the most interesting places and make them shine! Good work Cynthia! 🙂

  6. Joe says:

    Outstanding images Cyndie 🙂

  7. Always take the road less traveled – making the journey as much fun as the destination.

  8. MikeP says:

    Great take on a place… I really like the use of maps… I am kinda picture enabled!!!!

  9. What nice small town(s)! Great shots of the storefronts Cyndie, those were my favorites. Agreed on the maps inclusion, I appreciated that addition. 🙂

  10. Thank you SI- Have a great night!

  11. joshi daniel says:

    that place looks super cool and the pictures have a great feel to it 🙂

  12. You toured my home area of Minnesota. I grew up about 25 miles north of Walnut Grove in Vesta. I love the prairie. But you know that. My middle brother lives just north of Lamberton along a county road. My nephew and his family live in Walnut Grove. Love these small towns. Thanks for appreciating them as you do. Your photos capture well the spirit of rural southwestern Minnesota. Thank you for appreciating this often overlooked region of our state.

    • Thank you Audrey! I know that area well… My grandmother was a school teacher in Lamberton for many years (even taught in a one room schoolhouse). I remember going to school with her and sitting in her class many times as a child. That area is wonderful!

  13. This is in my neck of woods – Southwest Minnesota – I’m just outside Lake Benton, about 18 miles north of Pipestone. I’m going to check out the antique store in Gibbon. I didn’t realize there is one there. When you go back to Walnut Grove, check out Junk with Purpose on Highway 14. https://randomsweetnessbaking.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/finding-junk-with-purpose-on-u-s-highway-14/ The old creamery building in Walnut Grove is neat too.

  14. Sue says:

    Off the beaten path is my preferred way of travelling!

Leave a Reply

