When the School Bell Rang

The first time seeing this one room schoolhouse along side a country road near the small town of Elgin, in southern Minnesota, was exciting to say the least.  As we got out of the car and walked closer to the shell of this former schoolhouse, I could almost hear the chalk as it slid across the black board or the children that used to learn under her roof.  The images in this post are from the two times we have visited this little gem at two very different times of the year.

This old schoolhouse reminded me not only of the children that walked through the door, but also of the teachers that encouraged these students daily to learn and grow.

I would like to take the time to thank every teacher I have had the privilege of learning from.  My fourth grade math teacher that pushed me to apply myself to the schoolwork when I didn’t want to because he knew that I could… and I did.  To my Chemistry teacher in college that made learning the subject so fun that I completely understood, without even trying.  Math and Science is now one of my strong points, Thank you.

To all the teachers out there, I thank you for your time and dedication you put forth on a day-to-day basis…  Keep believing in all of your students and they will believe in themselves.

40 thoughts on “When the School Bell Rang

  1. C.e. Dorr says:

    The pictures are extraordinary, the colors luxurious and rich.

  2. Kiki says:

    Really like your pictures, and am quite envious of such photo opportunities. Around here you don’t find abandoned buildings like that. I suppose because it’s not rural, buildings either get torn down completely if no longer used, or new ones are built in their place.

  3. avian101 says:

    Very nice pictures, great compositions! 🙂

  4. seanpfarley says:

    Absolutely beautiful photos. I often feel I’m the only one who finds beauty in abandoned buildings. To see these is inspiring. Thank you for sharing them. 🙂

  5. Great find and images – I agree that teaching is an unvalued profession.

  6. elainecanham says:

    Beautiful, and sad.

  7. MikeP says:

    Still love your take on a place and your choice of processing… top notch.

  8. Joe says:

    Great series of images Cynthia 🙂

  9. Amy Pinkrose says:

    Gorgeous photos. (((HUGS))) Amy

  10. Make Something Mondays says:

    Wow, I love all of these, but especially the black and white shot of the board. It is like I’m in the room with you.

  11. terraburrah says:

    My favorite of yours. Very, very nice – indeed.

  12. Beautifull pictures… Very nice job 😉

  13. Wow, those are some beautiful pics!

  14. Loved this series and story. Have a soft spot for old schoolhouses, know it’s hard to find ones still standing. Great capture, and another home run set!

    • Thank you! We actually have a few still standing in this area, some where converted into houses (which I love) and others are in this state or despair. I am glad we ran into this one while she was still standing.

  15. Wonderful shots of this abandoned place.

  16. iRoswell says:

    I really love your photography! I also love dystopian photography and this give me both!!! The shots are incredible as well as your descriptions!!! Thank you for sharing 😊

  17. melinda martin says:

    Cynthia, can you tell me if this schoolhouse is still there? Thank you!

    • As far as I know, yes. Last Fall, a photographer and her nieces found and photographed this wonderful building. Let me know if I can assist further.

      • Judy Dickerman says:

        My parents went to this school, if you check out my name on Facebook, it is my cover picture. We lived down the road. I have been on the east coast since college, it was and will always be a treasure to me. It was burned down last weekend on purpose. Very sad! That people do such!

      • Dan and I would actually love to speak with you about the history of this building! That is sad news that the building is no longer standing!

  18. […] For instance, the images of the one room school house in Elgin, MN seen below, is no longer standing.  Visit an earlier post from 2014: When the School Bell Rang […]

Leave a Reply

