Within the clouds

Fog:

A collection of liquid water droplets or ice crystals suspended in the air at or near the Earth’s surface. While fog is a type of stratus cloud, the term “fog” is typically distinguished from the more generic term “cloud” in that fog is low-lying, and the moisture in the fog is often generated locally.  Fog is distinguished from mist only by its density, as expressed in the resulting decrease in visibility.  Fog reduces visibility to below 1 km (5/8 statue mile), whereas mist reduces visibility to no less than 1 km.

Wikipedia

The sensation that fog or any condensation adds to photography is one of mystery, one of magic.  The eeriness that those little water droplets can add to a scene may bring forth visions of fantasy.  What lies within the clouds?  The way that light intertwines with moisture in the air adds to the atmosphere of the landscape. Not only are you mystified by what lies behind the curtain, the mist can add the feeling of surprise, fear and admiration.

We had a few days when the fog stayed with us until the late afternoon- a rarity in our parts. We were lucky to be out in countryside on these days traveling the back-roads of Southeastern Minnesota lucky that we could share this abnormality together.  Next time the fog rolls into your area, grab your camera, and capture the light that dances gracefully with the water droplets.  Be quick though, the fog can form and then dissipate just as fast.

58 thoughts on “Within the clouds

  1. drew delaney says:

    I think this is totally awesome. Love the foggy look and like the mystery and melodrama effect. My favourite site thus far. You are my Star! Hugs

  2. drew delaney says:

    BTW, could you tell me how to add my signature at the bottom of photo’s. It makes it look so spot on and also is not so easy for others to take the glory, kind of thing.

    • It is always fun to go out with fellow photographer as we all see the world so differently! We are cold here as well as temperatures continue to drop well below zero.

      As for creating a watermark, I picked a font and Dan worked his magic! Any graphic program such as Photoshop would work to create one. Otherwise check out this blog-

      http://feetfromshore.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/photography-tip-how-to-create-your-own-watermark-for-free/

      I have use PicMonkey in the past and found it easy to use. For a more permanent solution – it is best to create your own!

      • drew delaney says:

        Thank you so much, Cynthia. I tried a photo on PicMonkey and it worked. I am so excited.

        Do you know anything about why my About Me shows up when I go into my page. I would like it to change to my most recent post. So many questions, but at least, I have one answered. Thanks to you! Hugs.

    • I am not seeing the “About me” that you are talking about. I do see your most recent post and they are wonderful! I have mine on a page, not a post (look to the left hand side). Maybe you have already figured this one out??

      • drew delaney says:

        I guess the more recent post shows up for others. For me, the Bio is on. Good, I’m glad that this is working better for the viewers. I am on a blogroll. My site provides that, but not sure how well it works. Still learning the ins and outs.

  3. We have a few good fog days last year; this was by far the best one I think. It definitely shows in your photos. The fog does play wonderfully with natures lights casting all sorts of mystery around you. You are never quite sure what is just beyond that vanishing point. Great job once again honey.

  4. You are truly an artist. These are beautiful!

  5. Spectacular shots! I love fog & the eeriness it brings. I’ve tried to shoot in fog & understand how difficult it can be to properly capture the scene. You did a fantastic job Cynthia, these are great.

    I can never pick favorites in your sets because they’re all so awesome. But the picture of the road twisting off really resonates with me.

    • Thank you so very much! That means a lot coming from a talented blogger such as yourself! I do love the fog and the feeling it gives forth; it can change a landscape dramatically. Will be reading your blog soon… can’t wait as I look forward to your posts!

  6. Sandra says:

    Beautiful work! Thanks for sharing these images here.

  7. Beautiful and painterly shots. Very nice!

  8. M.Gate says:

    I’m going to be staring at these beautiful images for days to come. I can’t explain the feelings I’m getting right now from looking at them. Thank you so much for these great shots.

  9. Wow! Beautiful photographs.

  10. elzaphod says:

    I am so drawn in . 🙂
    keep them coming

  11. Beautiful pictures! Stay warm…unless you’re out looking for “frozen fog.” That is worth the shivering!

  12. casagan says:

    Great atmosphere in these pictures. A very painterly quality in them.

  13. Heather says:

    this is a gorgeous series…so beautifully done Cynthia!!!

  14. talk2sahil says:

    You are brilliant dude!

  15. wwwdaniru says:

    very beautiful photos, fabulously mysterious

  16. pmdello says:

    Wonderful! I love the trunks in 4503.

  17. mastahj says:

    Hey! So uhm, I have no idea how to like something on your page hahah.

  18. Dalo 2013 says:

    Great shots…Opening photo is fantastic, but the ones with the horses really appeal. Great site!

  19. Make Something Mondays says:

    Each and every one of those is so captivating! I love the one with the horses walking towards you. Wow!

  20. fluffy2014 says:

    Very inspirational photography. Thank you for sharing. I love nature. I wish I could get out more.

  21. Absolutely stunning, when you can feel the photograph it says a lot to me. All the best

Leave a Reply

