April showers bring may flowers

April… Not only my birthday month but a time of new beginnings in the northern hemisphere as well.  Upon research, the etymology is from the Latin aperire, “to open,” in allusion to its being the season when trees and flowers begin to “open” or start a new beginning. Additionally the phrase “April showers bring May flowers” comes to mind.  April, traditionally a rainy period, gives way to May, when flowers will bloom because of the water provided to them by the April rains.  Therefore, by extension, that a period of discomfort can provide the basis for a period of happiness.  April… What a wonderful month indeed.

The fourth month of last year brought continued happiness and good fortune in our photography travels.  Dan and I scoured the countryside of Minnesota and Wisconsin in search for beauty.  We have the knack for running into something special whether it be a forgotten building, a reflection in a puddle from a recent April downpour, or a morning sunrise like no other.  As for the sunrises, I am a bit spoiled as I do, on occasion, get advance notice of the beauty that is about to unfold.  Dan commutes to St. Paul for work, which means that he leaves sometimes before I even open my eyes.  Those early morning text messages telling me to wake up and catch the morning sunrise as it is unfolding are appreciated… Thank you honey.

9 thoughts on “April showers bring may flowers

  1. Love your eye! You capture really great angles and color! We’re drawn to the same types of subjects.
    ~Christy

  2. Wonderful blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?

    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Cheers!

    • Thanks for your feed back, I do appreciate them all. I started using WordPress and have enjoyed the platform- easy to use and lots of content to view. I have known other bloggers that use another platform and find it hard to maneuver around and cumbersome. I have not moved forward with the “paid” option yet as I have a lot of catching up to do, but I would like to move in that direction int he future.

      I recently read a post from one of the bloggers that I follow. Here is the link, I hope it helps. http://quietsolopursuits.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/should-i-or-shouldnt-i/

      I guess my advice to you… try a free platform and see what you like, and what you don’t like. Then, move to a “paid” option when you are ready. One more hint… write from your heart- Always.

      I hope this helps somewhat 🙂

  3. ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you.

    Thanks. for visiting my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

  4. photobycraig says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog…much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

