A roadtrip and a fish… or what ever that was

We awoke to find the atmosphere was thick with fog again on that early March morning.  The fog or mist can emphasize depth, light, shapes, silhouettes and I love the way the water droplets scatter light.  The morning brought us to Frontenac, MN a small rural town located on the mighty Mississippi just southeast of Red Wing, MN.  Frontenac State Park was our first stop, the park is known as a birdwatchers’ paradise and is one of the best spots in the country to view birds migrating in the spring and fall.  If you travel this way, take a nature walk on one of the parks great hiking trails and enjoy the beautiful valley views.

Close by the state park is a small public boat launch located in the historic village of Old Frontenac.  A walk along that beach is usually calming but your heart rate can increase when you car chased by some kind of large, dead fish on a stick by someone who will remain nameless… Dan 🙂

After Dan had his fun with the what ever that was on a stick, we packed up our camera gear and headed back on the road.  Sometimes we don’t use our GPS and end up near a city that we weren’t intending to visit on that day.  I think that is the fun of it all- traveling on back-roads leading to… well, we find out.  Passing many photo opportunities along the way, you never know what a day spent traveling on unfamiliar roads will bring.

11 thoughts on “A roadtrip and a fish… or what ever that was

  1. Another great trip with my better half. It is always great shooting with you. Wonderful captures as always.

  2. kkred says:

    Great shots and what looks like – – fun times. 😉

  3. I love how you process your barn images. Willing to share your secret?

    • Thanks for the comment!
      I wish I could tell you exactly what recipe I use in my photos- They are all different. I use Lightroom for minor adjustments, but mostly work with Nik Software- Primarily Color Efex Pro 4. I love, yes LOVE Nik software and have fun working with the different filters (sometimes too much fun). Looking back on the last 2 posts, I can tell the I used “Glamour Glow” or “Monday Morning” within the different recipes on the majority of the barn pictures. Those two filters give a softness to the image. I hope that helps!

      • This is wonderful and thank you so much for sharing. Now I’m on a mission to go barn shooting so I can “be like Cynthia”. But I know yours will always be better than mine. 🙂

      • 🙂 I highly doubt that Emily! I very much enjoy viewing your work as well; you have a great eye for capturing beauty. What I love about photography is that two photographers can shoot the same object, but the beauty lies within how they perceive it, how they shoot it, and how they projected the image. Happy shooting and Happy Holidays!

  4. sethsnap says:

    wonderful pictures.

  5. Blondie's Sister says:

    I marvel at people who can take these pictures. I do not have this talent. But, you are right about family, and the definition of family, and now you are stuck with us!!!!!

  6. MikeP says:

    Hey… love the classic Dan on his back on the bench.. 🙂

  7. Jamie Kull says:

    What beautiful pictures Cyndie Loo! Your an amazing photographer. I’ve signed up to see your blogs now and can’t wait for more. I’m going to be a stalker, I mean fan, lol, for life. 😉 Ive noticed in your blogs that you have one amazing man in your life. I am so excited to see how happy you are now. You deserve the BEST!! Miss you! Hugs

Leave a Reply

